Law | News

2023: APC presidential aspirants meet over Tinubu-Shettima ticket

2 min read

All Progressive Congress (APC)

Three months after the end of presidential primary of the All Progressives Congress, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and 20 other aspirants will meet again in Abuja on August 31.

This is coming on the heels of Tinubu’s reported alliance with Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike in London two days ago.

The alleged pact between the two is coming to light following weeks of speculation and moves shrouded in secrecy.

A statement issued on Thursday by the media team of APC’s youngest aspirant, Dr. Nicolas Felix, disclosed that virtually all the aspirants who participated in the last presidential convention would converge in Abuja next week.

The statement partly read, “The special invitation to the strategic meeting of all 2023 APC presidential aspirants, which will be held at Transcorp Hilton in Abuja, on Wednesday, August 31st, 2022 by 2pm is to brainstorm on adopting winning campaign strategies that will carry every Nigerian along and address the challenges bedevilling our country.”

Among those expected to be in attendance are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Science and Technology Minister, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio.

There would also be five serving governors, namely Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti).

Others are Senate President, Ahmad Lawan; former Ogun State governor and serving senator, Ibikunle Amosun; a serving senator, Ajayi Boroffice; former Zamfara governor, Ahmad Sani; former Imo State governor and serving senator, Rochas Okorocha; a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; fiery cleric, Tunde Bakare; Pastor and Businessman, Dr. Nicolas Felix; former Information Minister, Ikeobasi Mokelu; Businessman, Tein Jack-Rich and the only female among them, Uju Ken-Ohanenye.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.