Law | News

PDP, APC lawmakers resign from parties, defect to Labour Party, NNPP

1 min read

Haliru Dauda Jika and Francis Ezenwa Onyewuchi

Two senators, Haliru Dauda Jika, APC, Bauchi Central and Francis Ezenwa Onyewusi, PDP, Imo East have dumped their political parties for the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) and Labour Party, respectively.

According to the two lawmakers, their decision was based on injustice and inequity being practiced in their former political parties.

They noted that the high level of injustice and inequity by the two major political parties in the country made them fail the primary elections in their respective states.

The decision of the two senators was announced on the Senate floor on Wednesday by the Senate President, Senator Ahmad Lawan during the plenary.

Ahead of the 2023 general elections, the ruling APC and the main opposition PDP have been witnessing exodus of their members to NNPP, Labour Party and few other political parties.

Recently, Senators Ahmad Babba Kaita representing Katsina North, Senator Lawal Yahaya Gumau representing Bauchi South, and Senator Francis Alimikhena representing Edo North, left the APC, while amongst others, the Senate Chief Whip, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe representing Abia South Senatorial District recently dumped the party for APGA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.